Scroll Top

Board of Education Announces Employees of the Year

Sunnyvale School District logo

On May 1, 2014, selection committees comprised of principals, certificated, and classified management personnel met to select the 2013-2014 Teacher of the Year and the 2013-2014 Classified Employee of the Year. Each school site, along with the District Office and the Operations Department, was invited to nominate one classified employee and one teacher from their site and submit the name(s) for discussion. On Wednesday, June 4, 2014 from 4:30-6:30 p.m. in the Board Room at the District Office, the selected employees and the nominees will be recognized by the Board of Education and presented with awards and/or certificates. These selected employees will represent the Sunnyvale School District for the 2014-2015 school year.

Each year the District also honors a member of the Management Team that will represent the team and the District throughout the 2014-2015 school year.

At the May 15, 2014 Board meeting, the Board of Education announced the names of the employees selected by the committees. The Sunnyvale School District 2013-2014 Employees of the Year are:

Pamela Murdock, Classified Employee of the Year (District Office)
Shannon Gordon, Teacher of the Year (Vargas Elementary School)
Mala Ahuja, Management Team Member of the Year (Director of Instructional Services)

All of these employees embody the District’s motto, “Learn Today, Lead Tomorrow.” The Sunnyvale School District wishes to congratulate all of the selected employees and the nominees for their extraordinary contributions to our students, staff, and community!

The Classified Employee Nominees are:

Mary Heynen – Bishop Elementary
Melissa Patton – Cherry Chase Elementary
Juan Lusich – Columbia Middle School
Kathy Kanagawa – Cumberland Elementary
Lydia Lacy – Ellis Elementary
Dulce Reid – Fairwood Explorer
Carmen Guel – Lakewood Elementary
Jeffery Engel – Operations
Noemi Herrera – Preschool Centers
Julio Duenas – San Miguel Elementary
Angel Martinez – Sunnyvale Middle School

The Teacher Nominees are:

Eleni Stratoudakis (Papas) – Bishop Elementary
Michael Walton – Cherry Chase Elementary
Nicole Baldacchino – Columbia Middle School
Stacie Rodriguez – Cumberland Elementary
Brenna Maxfield – Ellis Elementary
Bridget Watson – Fairwood Explorer
Rebecca Kimerer – Preschool Centers
Colleen Lynch – San Miguel Elementary
Greg Martinez – Sunnyvale Middle School










Leave a comment