Scroll Top

Sunnyvale School District Announces 2012-2013 Employees of the Year

Sunnyvale School District logo

On May 2, 2013, selection committees comprised of principals, certificated, and classified management personnel met to select the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year and the 2012-2013 Classified Employee of the Year. Each school site, along with the District Office and the Operations Department, was invited to nominate one classified employee and one teacher from their site and submit the name(s) for discussion. On Wednesday, June 5, 2013 from 4:30-6:30 pm in the Board Room, the selected employees and the nominees will be recognized by the Board of Education and presented with awards or certificates.

These selected employees will represent the Sunnyvale School District for the 2013-2014 school year.  Each year the District honors a member of the Management Team that will also represent the team and the District throughout the 2013-2014 school year.

At the May 16, 2013 board meeting, the Board of Education announced the names of the employees that were selected by the committees. The Sunnyvale School District 2012-2013 Employees of the Year are:

Judith Fernandez (Cumberland Elementary School), Classified Employee of the Year

Emily Moorehead (Sunnyvale Middle School), Teacher of the Year

Dorothy Abreu-Coito, Principal, Sunnyvale Middle School, Management Team Member of the Year

The Classified Employee nominees are:

Bishop Elementary – Rosario Clark
Cherry Chase Elementary – Jose Mendoza
Columbia Middle School – Ana Santillan
Ellis Elementary – Leo Palafox
Fairwood Elementary – Maria Lujan
Lakewood Elementary – Velma Ambriz
District Office/Operations – Jose Ortiz
Preschool Centers – Dovhilyn Santiago
San Miguel Elementary – Teresa Salazar
Sunnyvale Middle School – Leticia Salcedo
Vargas Elementary – Louise Kuramoto

The Teacher nominees are:

Bishop Elementary – Mirell Kazos
Cherry Chase Elementary – Maria Matteis
Columbia Middle School – Ryan Dann
Cumberland Elementary – Nathalie Faure
Ellis Elementary – Jonathan Watts
Fairwood Elementary – Carol Price
Lakewood Elementary – Amanda Erichsen
San Miguel Elementary – Joana Silva
Preschool Centers – KyungHwa “Kay” Park
Vargas Elementary – Cecilia Mendoza-Torres

All of these employees embody the District’s motto, “Learn Today, Lead Tomorrow.” The Sunnyvale School District wishes to congratulate all of the selected employees and the nominees for their extraordinary contributions to our students, staff, and community!

Announcement by Deborah Dodge

Leave a comment